BET Awards: Burna Boy wins best international act

Burna Boy has won the BET Best International Act of the year.

The famous event was held last night at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles, United States of America (USA).

Burna Boy was nominated alongside Teni and Mr Eazi in the category, and was present at the event but was nowhere to be found when announced winner.

However, Mama Burna and manager to the Afro-fusion musician, Bose Ogulu was present to accept the award on her son’s behalf. This isn’t the first time Mama Burna will be accepting a trophy on behalf of her son.

“Thank you very much BET, thank you, Africa. That is the constituency for which we got noticed. The message from Burna would be that every black person should please remember that you were Africans before you became anything else.” Bose said.


Watch video here


See full list of winners follows:

Best Female R&B/Pop Artiste

Beyoncé (WINNER)
Ella Mai
Teyana Taylor


Best Male R&B/Pop Artiste

Bruno Mars (WINNER)
Anderson .Paak
Childish Gambino
Chris Brown
John Legend


Best Group

Migos (WINNER)
Chloe x Halle
City Girls
Lil Baby & Gunna
The Carters


Best Collaboration

“Sicko Mode,” Travis Scott ft. Drake (WINNER)
“A Lot,” 21 Savage ft. J. Cole
“Please Me,” Cardi B & Bruno Mars
“I Like It,” Cardi B ft. Bad Bunny & J Balvin
“Could’ve Been,” H.E.R. ft. Bryson Tiller
“Taste,” Tyga ft. Offset


Best Female Hip Hop Artiste

Cardi B (WINNER)
Kash Doll
Megan Thee Stallion
Nicki Minaj
Remy Ma


Best Male Hip Hop Artiste

Nipsey Hussle (WINNER)
21 Savage
J. Cole
Meek Mill
Travis Scott


Video of the Year

“This Is America,” Childish Gambino (WINNER)
“A Lot,” 21 Savage ft. J. Cole
“Money,” Cardi B
“Please Me,” Cardi B & Bruno Mars
“Nice For What,” Drake
“APES**T,” The Carters


Video Director of the Year

Karena Evans (WINNER)
Benny Boom
Colin Tilley
Dave Meyers
Hype Williams

Best New Artist

Lil Baby (WINNER)
City Girls
Juice WRLD
Queen Naija

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational

“Blessing Me Again,” Snoop Dogg ft. Rance Allen (WINNER)
“All Of My Life,” Erica Campbell ft. Warryn Campbell
“Tell Me Where It Hurts,” Fred Hammon
“Love Theory,” Kirk Franklin
“Never Alone,” Tori Kelly ft. Kirk Franklin


Best International Act

Burna Boy (Nigeria) (WINNER)
AKA (South Africa)
Aya Nakamura (France)
Dave (U.K.)
Dosseh (France)
Giggs (U.K.)
Mr. Eazi (Nigeria)


Best New International Act

Sho Madjozi (South Africa) (WINNER)
Headie One (UK)
Jokair (France)
Nesly (France)
Octavian (UK)
Teni (Nigeria)


Best Actress

Regina King (WINNER)
Issa Rae
Regina Hall
Taraji P. Henson
Tiffany Haddish
Viola Davis


Best Actor

Michael B. Jordan (WINNER)
Anthony Anderson
Chadwick Boseman
Denzel Washington
Mahershala Ali
Omari Hardwick


Young Stars

Marsai Martin (WINNER)
Caleb McLaughlin
Lyrics Ross
Michael Rainey Jr.
Miles Brown


Best Movie

BlacKkKlansman (WINNER)
Creed 2
If Beale Street Could Talk
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
The Hate U Give


Sportswoman of the Year

Serena Williams (WINNER)
Allyson Felix
Candace Parker
Naomi Osaka
Simone Biles


Sportsman of the Year

Stephen Curry (WINNER)
Kevin Durant
LeBron James
Odell Beckham Jr.
Tiger Woods


Album of the Year

Invasion of Privacy, Cardi B (WINNER)
Astroworld, Travis Scott
Championships, Meek Mill
Ella Mai, Ella Mai
Everything Is Love, The Carters



“Hard Place,” H.E.R.
“Raise a Man,” Alicia Keys
“Level Up,” Ciara
“Pynk,” Janelle Monáe
“Mama’s Hand,” Queen Naija
“Rose In Harlem,” Teyana Taylor


Coca-Cola Viewers’ Choice

“Trip,” Ella Mai (WINNER)
“I Like It,” Cardi B ft. Bad Bunny & J Balvin
“This Is America,” Childish Gambino
“In My Feelings,” Drake
“Middle Child,” J. Cole
“Sicko Mode,” Travis Scott ft. Drake




Leave a Comment: